Red Ochre

A paste made from a mixture of bear grease and iron oxide that was often applied to the whole body. It protected from insect bites and over-exposure to the sun. For burial ceremonies, the deceased was also covered with red ochre to assist in its journey to the spirit world. 


His award winning album “Red Ochre” was recorded by Jean-Louis Paulin Studio from Petit Rocher, N.B. and was funded by the New Brunswick Arts Board in 1998. Jean Louis contributed his expertise in musical arrangement to this album, mixing Georges’ Mi’kmaq language with ancient rhythmic sounds. Gilbert Sewell and his daughters, Cynthia and Anna Mae, from Pabineau First Nations performed the backup vocals. The excellent cover design was done by Charles Theriault of Publik Art Inc. in Beresford, N.B.

"Red Ochre" is a combination of traditional and contemporary sound delivering a strong message of environmental and aboriginal issues. This Album has been generating a lot of attention with CBC and other radio stations, particularly First Nations owned radio stations across Canada.

The album Red Ochre, originally recorded in 1998 saw the development of its promotional stage presence in February 23rd 1999. At this time George enlisted the talents of local musicians. Kevin Arsenault, a guitar player from Chatham Miramichi, was George’s first band member. Mike Arsenault, a drummer was the next member to join the band. Shortly after, Alfred Tony from Shubenacadie N.S. became the band’s bass player. Six months later, Pete Christenson joined in as the lead guitarist. Finally, Chris Sonier added his harmonizing vocals to complete what would eventually become “The Red Ochre Band”.

This album, originally recorded by George and Jean-Louis Paulin now became a candidate for an East Coast Music Awards. It was submitted in the year 2000 for a 2001 Event hosted in Charlottetown P.E.I. and won best Aboriginal artist/group of the year.

Product details

Original Release Date: June 8, 2018
Recorded At: Jean-Louis Paulin Studio, Petit Rocher, NB
Label: Publik Art
Copyright: ℗© 1998 George Paul
Digitally Mastered: Reel North Recording Studio, Fredericton, NB
SOCAN Member

Red Ochre - George Paul


    1. Mi’gemawa’j
    2. Broken Trust
    3. Walking-in Chant
    4. Pow Wow Joe
    5. Ancient Warrior
    6. Flag Song
    7. Pow Wow Fever
    8. Mi’gemawessu
    9. Thunder Spirit
    10. Honor Song
    11. Lament
    12. Crying Song

© 2019 created for MCHC 

65 Treaty Trail, Millbrook, NS, B6L 1W3